Road Crap

May 27, 2007

I’ve been trying to figure out how to educate car drivers, so they might understand why I don’t always ride inches from the curb. I attached a camera to my bike and filmed the road on a ride to work. The movie is taking a looooong time to export, but I have some highlights. The uncut movie’s a little dull, anyway.

Here’s a stick-in-the-road. I’m climbing slowly here, so it’s unlikely that I would flip if it caught in my spokes, but it could still trash my spokes.

Here’s a lovely pothole in Lexington, complete with water in the bottom. There’s another one like it further up the photo.

A little further down the road, there’s some substantial debris at the edge of the road.

Lexington has some (four that I know) deadly drains, designed and oriented as if they were intended to trap bicycle wheels (this is one of the reasons I now use very large tires).

There’s a stretch of road in Burlington with big piles of sand. Less of a problem now with fat tires, but skinny tires get all squirrelly in this stuff.

Sometimes, sand with hubcaps.

Here, the road seems to contain a blinding white light. That’s what daylight looks like, emerging from underneath Route 128. Human eyes do a little better than this, and it’s only for a fraction of a second, but if there’s an obstacle here, nobody will see it. There is, in fact, a car hidden in that blinding white blob. And of course, to cars, I am equally invisible.

Returning from work, someone has dribbled a stream of gravel down the edge of the road. I don’t want to ride on this because it could cut my tires. If car drivers knew about the rocks spitting sideways from my tires, they wouldn’t want me riding in it either (the big tires do that less — high pressure tires fling them pretty hard, and I have heard them hitting cars once or twice).

Here, in Burlington, is a nice storm drain, nicely filled with wood scraps. It’s been like this for weeks.

Blocks, bolts.

Bunnies (poor bunny — just to the right of the front wheel, you can see his fluffy cottony tail).

Beavers.

Do note, this is just the impressive-looking big stuff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

