Home

Dr. Who

August 26, 2007

“Lots to do! Beat the Germans! Save the world! Don’t forget the welfare state!”
The Doctor (“The Doctor Dances”, Doctor Who, Season 27, Episode 10)

So, everyone but me and Max are out of town, it’s hot, hot, hot (the high was 97, and we went bike riding in it), we decided to watch another disk of Futurama (Max’s birthday present). Disk was done, I was still feeling useless, so I clicked through the channels, and lo, it was Dr. Who.

And in this episode, set mostly in London(?) in WW2, “everybody lives”, and as Dr. Who is saying goodbye to a bunch of puzzled people, he says “Lots to do! Beat the Germans! Save the world! Don’t forget the welfare state!”

And I thought that was just wonderful.

What’s best, is when I went Googling to see if I had heard right, I got 6 hits, and the first one I chose (with the best-looking excerpt), was a bunch of humorless Ayn Rand Objectivists, dedicated to their bone-headed philosophy. By trying very hard, they didn’t get it. Thanks guys, you made my day, and I think your hero is a loony-bird.

Leave a Reply

