Home

Not a toy

December 16, 2007

It’d be nice if more people knew what they don’t need a car for.

On the way home from work, I picked up a small grocery load, taking the unpaved path home between Alewide and Belmont. Once the snow/slush freezes, it’s easy enough to ride, though the frozen slush sculptures make it very rough.


SnowTrailTail.jpg

A few days later, we had a big snow storm, and I had to fetch my son’s bike from the school. Traffic was a disaster (90 minutes to travel 4 miles from the dentist earlier that day); no way was I going to try to drive in it (again). So I took my bike.


SnowTow.jpg

Two days later, I went grocery shopping. There’s a storm due tonight, people are stocking, and piles of snow from the previous storm filling parking spaces, so parking is a disaster. So I took my bike. Couldn’t hack the trail, it has nine inches of chopped-up snow, took Concord Avenue (yuck) instead. I ended up with quite a load.


LoadedSnowyDay.jpg

From the rear. Someone really needs to make some fatty snow tires, because I am pretty well near the official load limit back there.


SnowLoadRear.jpg

Unloaded.


GroceryLoad.jpg

Leave a Reply

