Home

good old days versus good OLD days

October 5, 2009

In the good old days, I’d be nine years dead already, if I were lucky.
Most of my ancestors on my father’s side are buried in New England. Until the Pomeroy sisters showed up, life (for the men, at least) was short.

Pre-Pomeroy:

Isaac Newton Watts (no kidding) and his great-great-great-grandson Isaac.

IsaacAndIsaac.jpeg

The most hated math professor ever at Dartmouth College, and his great-great-grandson John.

DadAndSCPMiDC.jpeg

My great-great-grandfather, made it all the way to 49.

GGPFredAndMary.jpeg

Other uncles and cousins.

WWandFG_Chase.jpeg

Then, Mary (Mary Fuller Chase, above) and Emma Pomeroy married into the Chase and Lord families, and things got a tad better. I knew all these people when I was a kid, they were in their 80s and 90s then, and still somewhat up and around (my great-grandfather was still working on his orange grove at age 88 or 89).

StephenChase.jpeg

His brother. I ought to wander down to Milton, just for the sake of completeness.

UncleFrederick.jpeg

And their cousin, Emma’s daughter, Laura Woolsey Lord Scales.

CousinLaura.jpeg

Leave a Reply

