Home

Today’s annoying Eclipse bug

October 25, 2011

Trying to jump to a source line from someplace in the stack trace, it fails with this message instead:

ArchiveDoesNotExist1

“Archive does not exist: /Users/dr2chase/worksapce/PFC/default_repository/caches/bytecode_cache/*”

I had to type that in by hand because the Eclipse guys have not yet mastered the art of rendering selectable text that I can copy and paste in their little alert windows. (That’s another bug.)

Of course, the archive does exist; that character string is the convention used by another part of Eclipse to designate “all the jar files in this directory”.

ArchiveDoesNotExist2

Their error message is doubly bogus, because the line I am clicking corresponds to a file that appears somewhere else on the debug classpath. It could simply skip the error and carry on to see if a later entry succeeds. A likely workaround would be to reorder the entries in my classpath, but that is not an option here because we have duplicated class files on the path, and order matters.

This is not a showstopper by any means, but it is tedious, and removes a feature from Eclipse that I normally use and expect to work.

Eclipse version:

Version: Helios Service Release 2
Build id: 20110218-0911

MacOS version 10.6.8

And why I am blogging this, instead of entering it into their bug database? I’ve tried that in the past; they yield equally satisfactory results, but this is easier for me.

2 Responses to “Today’s annoying Eclipse bug”

  1. Y Says:

    So… any idea how to fix it? This drives me crazyyyyyy :(((

  2. Y Says:

    Ok, for future reference I’m adding my solution here: In my case, some OTHER project had one of its referenced libraries with a source attachment link that was invalid.

    Now go over all your libraries in ALL open projects, see which source is attached to them, and verify that Eclipse doesn’t complain about it.

    In Eclipse we trust.


Leave a Reply

