Home

Bad noob experience with AWS

December 14, 2014

“Your recent Trac powered by Bitnami launch failed. Your requested instance type (m1.small) is not supported in your requested Availability Zone (us-east-1e). Please retry your request by not specifying an Availability Zone or choosing us-east-1b, us-east-1a, us-east-1c.”

And how, pray tell, is “retry my request” accomplished? I probed various links, none of them took me to the place where I launched from, do I need to delete this one first, or is it already dead? If I make the obvious mistake here, will it cost me money? (I don’t think it will, but there’s a gap between “don’t think it will” and “won’t”.)

And why did it let me make this request in the first place, if it was doomed to failure (I think this was all specified on an early page, why was this combo shown to me, never mind that it was chosen as the default)? And why isn’t there a help/feedback button on this page where I need help or want to give feedback?

Fortunately, I have a blog. Always remember, this is not just about public shaming of (other) bozos, this is doing them a favor by pointing out the upside potential in their products. People who care about improving their software will make it as easy as possible to file bugs, and will make it as easy as possible for the filed bugs to be informative to whoever has to deal with them.

2 Responses to “Bad noob experience with AWS”

  1. Ry Says:

    i got the same thing, you ever figure it out? it was to be a simple one click install and i already got a problem…

    • dr2chase Says:

      Two problems — #1, what I wanted was “micro” anyway, not sure how I ended up on small. #2, further down the page in a not-entirely-intuitive place is where you choose the availability zone. I poked around till I got back there, made the right choice, accidentally ran up a couple of dollars on the instance type, and a few days later it was fairly easy to shut it down, change the size, and restart — did not need to redeploy, though it woke up with a new IP address. I don’t recall exactly how I did the shutdown and resize, only that it was not difficult (though again, it was not immediately obvious, I just guessed and hoped that the option would be presented).


Leave a Reply

